Return to the

AECT, ECT, and

Divisional Awards

AECT Qualitative Inquiry Award 2017

Award: A $750 cash prize will be presented to the winner in 2017. The Award recipient may present at the annual AECT convention and has the opportunity to publish in the Educational Media and Technology Yearbook. Qualitative theories and methods should be applied from disciplines such as anthropology, art criticism, communications, cultural studies, history, literary theory, philosophy, and sociology.

Eligibility: This award recognizes individual scholarship. Co-authored submissions are not accepted. Membership in AECT is required. (See membership benefits for more information.).

Requirements: Applications must include each of four items: 1) a cover letter requesting recognition of a completed study; 2) a two page resume; 3) a one page abstract; and 4) a descriptive narrative of 15–20 pages of double spaced text including references and all other material.

Narrative: This may be a final report or a synopsis of a final report. The qualitative foundation should be clearly identified. Describe the study’s theoretical base, the inquiry issue, and the inquiry strategy. Include a description of the findings and an interpretation of the findings. Emphasize the social or cultural context.

Entries must be received by Friday, April 5, 2017.

Submit all four items in pdf format to:

Jay Harriman
AECT Awards Chair



The ECT Foundation is the non-profit foundation of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) and was established to carry out the purposes and programs of AECT that are charitable and educational in nature. The ECT Foundation funds an extensive awards program that promotes scholarship and leadership in the field of educational communications and technology at both the graduate and undergraduate levels. Because it is a non-profit organization, all donations to the ECT Foundation are tax-deductible. Financial gifts to support its many programs are welcome. For additional information or to make a donation, write to ECT Foundation, c/o AECT, 320 W. 8th st. Ste 101 Bloomington, IN • 47404-3745


 • Colin Gray
 • Douglas Hudson Tedford
 • Catherine Adams
 • Rick Voithofer
 • Catherine Adams
 • Dr. Ellen Rose

Association for Educational Communications and Technology

320 W. 8th st. Ste 101
Bloomington, IN • 47404-3745