Return to the

AECT, ECT, and

Divisional Awards

Richard B. Lewis Memorial Award 

The ECT Foundation's Richard B. Lewis Memorial Award is presented to a school district for outstanding utilization of technology.

The awardee receives a plaque of achievement which is presented during the awards ceremony at the annual convention to be held November 7 - November 11, 2017 at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, Jacksonville, Florida.


The Richard B. Lewis Memorial Award was established in 1981. Lewis was an innovative leader of audiovisual instruction and new teaching methods. Lewis initiated the audiovisual and instructional television services in 1949 at San Jose State College and was influential in establishing similar programs throughout the country. Nationally, he was most widely known as co-author of a leading basic college textbook in the educational technology field, AV Instruction: Technology, Media and Methods. He was a visiting professor at many universities and participated in numerous presentations and workshops. This award is a fitting memorial to him.


A. All school districts, public and private, having media utilization programs in place are eligible and may provide written evidence of strong media utilization as gathered from:

  • Special utilization studies conducted by or for the school
  • Specific instances of good utilization as described by the school district or other personnel

B. Provide written evidence of allocated budget to provide the means of implementing good utilization programs in the district's schools, and the degree to which AECT/ALA media standards are met for services, equipment, and personnel.

The winner will be named by AECT's Awards Committee based upon a recommendation from the School Media and Technology division.


To submit a nomination complete the form. Please click here.


Deadline for nominations is August 15th, 2017.


For additional information please contact:

Jay Harriman, AECT Past-President
AECT Awards Chair


The ECT Foundation is the non-profit organization that carries out the purposes and programs of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) that are charitable and educational in nature. The awards given through the ECT Foundation promote scholarship and leadership in the field of educational communications and technology. Because it is a non-profit organization, all donations to the ECT Foundation are tax-deductible. Financial gifts to support its many programs are welcome. For additional information or to make a donation, write to ECT Foundation, c/o AECT, 320 W. 8th st. Ste 101 Bloomington, IN 47404-3745


The division of School Media and Technology provides leadership in educational communications and technology by linking professionals holding a common interest in the use of educational technology and its application to the learning process in the K-12 school environment.


 • Collier County Public School District

Association for Educational Communications and Technology

320 W. 8th st. Ste 101
Bloomington, IN • 47404-3745