Return to the

AECT, ECT, and

Divisional Awards

James W. Brown Publication Award 
The James W. Brown Publication Award plaque is presented to the author(s) of an outstanding publication in the field of educational technology.

The awardee receives a plaque of achievement which is presented during the awards ceremony at the 2017 annual convention to be held November 7 - November 11, 2017 at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, Jacksonville, Florida.


James W. Brown (1913-1987) was born in Hanford, Washington. He taught junior high school while studying for a Bachelor's degree from Central Washington State College and obtained his Master's and PhD degrees from the University of Chicago. After serving in the Navy during World War II, he was involved in the development of the first statewide plan for audiovisual services through the Virginia State Department of Education. He then spent a year on the faculty at Syracuse University and later moved to Seattle, Washington, to supervise the University Film Center at the University of Washington. From 1953 to 1974 James Brown was affiliated with San Jose State University, first as an associate professor of education then later as Dean of Graduate Studies and Research.

His many professional activities included two terms as President of AECT and serving many years on the ECT Foundation's Board of Directors. Dr. Brown was a prolific writer, his best known books have become standard textbooks, many of which he co-authored with fellow educators. In addition to editing the Educational Media Yearbook from 1973 to 1984, he produced 27 books, travel filmstrips, and two travel books about England and Ireland.

In 1981, he gave the funds to establish the James W. Brown Publication Award. The purpose of the award was to provide an opportunity to recognize writers in the educational technology field.


Nominations are restricted to published books. Any published book in the field of educational technology is eligible if it bears a publication date of 2014 to 2016.

Nominated books may be designed for educators/trainers in a variety of settings, including schools and universities, business and industry, instructional design groups, online learning design sites, media-and-technology administration or production centers, and others. Nominated books may be academic/scholarly works or may focus on professional practice and roles, since both types of books are suited to the evaluation criteria listed below. Books are judged in relation to the context in which they are likely to have the most impact, be that in academic/scholarly settings, professional practice settings, or some combination of the two. The book that is judged by the committee to be of greatest quality and potential impact for its intended audience will receive the Brown Award, regardless of whether it is intended for an academic or professional audience. Nominations are solicited from all possible sources: AECT members, AECT Divisions, AECT Foundation members, media-related publishers, authors themselves, AECT Publications Committee members, and others.

Evaluation Criteria:

Nominated publications shall be judged on the basis of:

  1. Significance of the book’s content for the field of educational technology and communications, as defined in Educational Technology: A Definition with Commentary published by Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group in 2007, or in any chapter of the publication
  2. Potential impact of the book’s content on professional practice or scholarship in the field of media/instructional technology, as defined in Educational Technology: A Definition with Commentary.
  3. Professional quality of the book and relevance of its content to AECT goals.
  4. Technical quality of the book.

Selection Process:

A sub-committee of the AECT Publications Committee will evaluate nominated books, consider the evaluations supplied by nominators, and agree on selection of the award recipient. If more than one individual contributed to the selected publication, the recipients shall determine how to divide the award.

To submit a nomination complete the form. Please Click Here.

In addition, three copies of each nominated text must be submitted to:

Rhonda S. Robinson, Ph.D.
Presidential Teaching Professor
Dept. of Educational Technology, Research, and Assessment
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115

Note: Nominations will not be considered complete without submission of the required copies. The selection committee requests that publishers/producers donate one additional copy of all print materials for placement in the AECT library.


May 7th, 2017 is the deadline to submit a nomination and provide at least 3 copies of the nominated book to the committee chair. .


For more information please contact:

Rhonda S. Robinson, Ph.D.

Funding and Support: ECT Foundation


 • Monica Tracey
 • Jim Klein
 • Rita Richey
 • Allison Carr-Chellman
 • Charles M. Reigeluth
 • Muriel Visser-Valfrey
 • Jan Visser
 • John Dempsey
 • Robert Reiser
 • James Klein
 • Rita Richey

Association for Educational Communications and Technology

320 W. 8th st. Ste 101
Bloomington, IN • 47404-3745