Return to the

AECT, ECT, and

Divisional Awards

Robert deKieffer International Fellowship Award 

The ECT Foundation's Robert deKieffer International Fellowship Award is presented to an individual in recognition of his/her professional leadership in the field of educational communications and technology in a foreign country.

The awardee receives a cash award of $400 with a plaque of achievement presented during the awards ceremony at the 2017 annual convention to be held November 7 - November 11, 2017 at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, Jacksonville, Florida.


Robert deKieffer was born in Chicago in 1916. His father died when he was only four years old. Bob was diagnosed with dyslexia so his mother encouraged him to study music which eventually lead him to Heidelberg, Germany after his high school graduation. Bob served as Concert Master of the Heidelberg Symphony Orchestra then he returned to the United States and earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in education from Northwestern University. After serving in the Navy during World War II, he earned his Ph.D. from State University of Iowa, where he established his reputation in the educational technology field with the study, "The Status of Teacher-Training in Audio-Visual Education in the Forty-Eight States", a forty year longitudinal study reported at ten-year intervals. Bob held positions with Stephens College in Missouri and the University of Oklahoma then, in 1954 Bob became the director of the Bureau of Audio-Visual Instruction at the University of Colorado at Boulder, where he developed an extensive film collection, supported instructional television and eventually served as Dean of the Division of Continuing Education until his retirement in 1982. Always interested in leadership development, Bob served as AECT President and Chair of the ECT Foundation, giving many years of leadership and service to his profession.


1. The nominee must be a professional in educational
communications and technology.

2. The position held by this individual may be at any level.

3. The nominee must be member of AECT.

4. The nominee resides outside the 50 states of the United States.

5. The recipient must meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Has conducted a major project or been involved in the advancement of educational communications and technology outside of the USA.
  • Is recognized as a leader in the field based on his/her teaching, research or service records.
  • Has been active and is instrumental in forging a professional partnership in educational communications and technology between the USA and one or more foreign countries.

6. Recommendations from three references must be submitted in order for the nomination to be considered.


To submit a nomination complete the form. Please click here.

Comments from an additional three contributors must be submitted in order for the application to be considered. Please use the save form. Click the above link.


Deadline for nominations is August 15th, 2017.


For more information please contact Amy Bradshaw at


The ECT Foundation is the non-profit foundation of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) and was established to carry out the purposes and programs of AECT that are charitable and educational in nature. The ECT Foundation funds an extensive awards program that promotes scholarship and leadership in the field of educational communications and technology at both the graduate and undergraduate levels. Because it is a non-profit organization, all donations to the ECT Foundation are tax-deductible. Financial gifts to support its many programs are welcome. For additional information or to make a donation, write to ECT Foundation, c/o AECT, 320 W. 8th st. Ste 101 Bloomington, IN 47404-3745


The International Division encourages practice and research in educational communication for social and economic development across national and cultural lines.


 • Linda Fang
 • Mei Feng Liu
 • Clarence T. Chu
 • Yung Ruyen Baek
 • Frederick M. Litto
 • Luca Botturi

Association for Educational Communications and Technology

320 W. 8th st. Ste 101
Bloomington, IN • 47404-3745