Jacksonville 2017 
  Browse/Search Program 
  Convention Planner 
  PDF of Program    Workshops 
  AECT Registration  
  Hotel Reservations 
  Airport Shuttle 
Internship Recipients 
  Proceedings Submission                                       


History of the AECT Leadership Development Internship Program

Earl F. Strohbehn

In 1978, Earl F. Strohbehn, then a professor of education at San Jose State University, established a trust fund through the ECT Foundation to help support a deserving graduate student's attendance at the Leadership conference. His mentor and friend, Lee Cochran inspired the leadership conference to develop leaders in the educational communications and technology field. Earl F. Strohbehn started his professional responsibilities in the audiovisual field in Iowa in 1945 as Director of Audiovisual Services in the Cedar Falls Public Schools. It was his wish that in the event that the Leadership conference was discontinued, his donation would be used to support graduate students in the field in the manner deemed best; hence, the current internship funding at the AECT national convention.

Lee W. Cochran

Lee W. Cochran began earning his living by rewinding films in the Visual Services of the University of Iowa in 1923. Forty-six years later, he retired as Director of the Audiovisual Center. During World War II, he was one of a small group of pioneer educators who, serving in the Training Aids Divisions of the Armed Forces, proved that films and other visual materials could teach essential procedures more effectively and efficiently than the traditional lecture method. Lee was responsible for the organization of the Audiovisual Education Association of Iowa (AVEAI) and as a member of DAVI, he traveled with a team nation-wide assisting school systems in establishing self-evaluation guidelines for development of audiovisual resources and services. He served as President of DAVI from 1955-56 and during that time organized the Educational Media Leadership Conferences at Lake Okoboji, Iowa. Annual reports from the conference were examined and studied by educators in many fields throughout the nation.

Not only was Lee dedicated to education and the utilization of audiovisual methods, he also served as a mentor and advisor for the generation of educators who followed him. The Lee W. Cochran estate provides funding, through the ECT Foundation, for the AECT Conference Internship Program. The Leadership Development Committee of AECT oversees the conference intern and leadership intern programs in cooperation with the AECT Awards Committee and the ECT Foundation. It strives to enhance the involvement of graduate students in AECT. The committee studies and recommends to the AECT Board of Directors new leadership development strategies that are designed to meet the changing needs of the Association, the members and the field.

*Jenny Johnson

In late September, 2011, Jenny Johnson was recognized by the AECT Board Members and International Division leaders for her many years of dedicated service and loyalty to the full organization and especially to the International Division. Jenny spent many years as faculty at University of Maryland University College, traveling the globe (many times on Fulbright Scholarship), and being responsible for the AECT's directory for 'Degree Curricula in Educational Communications and Technology'. The Jenny Johnson International Intern Scholarship will be awarded to an international student or an faculty member in the first four years of faculty appointment.
* This internship is offered every other year. The next Jenny Johnson Internship offering is in 2018. 

REMINDER: Applications for the 2017 AECT Leadership Internship Program are due by June 5, 2017. This includes a sponsor letter in support of your application. Please allow enough time for your sponsor to submit this letter by the due date, June 5.

Intro | History | Guidelines | Sponsor | Evaluation | Application