AECT Association for Educational Communications and Technology
   Click on the future of learning...
  1. What is the history of the field?
  2. What is the knowledge base?
  3. What is the history of AECT's partnership with NCATE?
  4. How are the 2000 performance-based standards different from the previous guidelines?
  5. Is my program an ECIT program?
  6. Is my program initial or advanced?
  7. What are the initial standards?
  8. What are the advanced standards?
  9. What are the components of a Program Report?
  10. What are the critical aspects of an Assessment Plan?
  11. What are some types of data to include?
  12. Why should we be interested in National Recognition?
  13. What are common weaknesses in Program Reports?
  14. How is AECT responsible for ECIT program review?
  15. How does the program review process work once I submit a program report?
  16. How do I know whether my state has a review partnership with NCATE?
  17. What are the expectations for program reviewers?
  18. Who are my contacts at AECT?
  19. Which programs currently have National Recognition?
  20. What do I do if I have a school library media specialist program?
6. Is it an Initial or Advanced program?

AECT is responsible for reviewing two types of programs. These are: 1) Initial Programs in Educational Communications and Instructional Technologies (ECIT) and 2) Advanced Programs in Educational Communications and Instructional Technologies. Authors of the earlier guidelines chose to use the term "media and technology" while the newer term of "educational communications and instructional technologies" reflects a broader representation of the field. This umbrella term provides for programs as diverse as multimedia, distance learning, computer technologies, instructional design, and school library media preparation.

Initial ECIT
programs are defined as those which represent initial entry into the field. They are rooted in design and practice and, perhaps, could be likened to the knowledge, comprehension, and application stages of Bloom’s taxonomy. Advanced ECIT programs are defined as those which represent additional study in the field. They emphasize theory, research, and higher level management processes and, perhaps, could be likened to the analysis, synthesis, and evaluation stages of Bloom’s taxonomy. For example, a Baccalaureate or Master's program which prepares individuals for either initial school certification or entry level positions in business or industry may be considered an Initial ECIT program. A graduate program which advances knowledge and skills beyond the entry level for the profession constitutes an Advanced ECIT program. Currently, ECIT initial programs are typically certification, licensure, or Master’s degree programs. It is anticipated that advanced candidates are able to demonstrate the competencies outlined in the initial program as well as those identified for advanced programs

Return to Table of Contents

Unless specified otherwise, all material on this site is 2001 by AECT
Association for Educational Communications and Technology

1800 N. Stonelake Dr. Suite 2
Bloomington, IN • 47408


AECT Webmaster

AECT Home Membership Information Conferences & Events AECT Publications Post and Search Job Listings