About Us

Who We Are

The Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) is a professional association of instructional designers, educators and professionals who provide leadership and advise policy makers in order to sustain a continuous effort to enrich teaching and learning. Seizing opportunities to raise awareness and leverage technology, our members may be found around the world in colleges and universities, in the Armed Forces and industry, in museums, libraries, and hospitals, and in the many places where educational change is underway. Our research and scholarly activity contribute to the knowledge base in the field of Learning. We are on the cutting edge of new developments and innovations in research and application.

What We Do

AECT is the premier organization for those actively involved in the design of instruction and a systematic approach to learning. We provide an international forum for the exchange and dissemination of ideas for our members and for target audiences. We are the national and international voice for improvement of instruction and the most recognized association of information concerning a wide range of instructional and educational technology. We have 24 states and six International Affiliates all passionate about finding better ways to help people learn.

Since 1923, AECT has been the professional home for this field of interest and has continuously maintained a central position in the field, promoting high standards, in both scholarship and practice with nine Divisions and a Graduate Student Assembly that represent the breadth and depth of the field. We produce two bimonthly journals, Educational Technology Research and Development and TechTrends.

Our Mission

Provide international leadership by promoting scholarship and best practices in the creation, use, and management of technologies for effective teaching and learning.

Our Vision

We seek to be the premier international organization in educational technology, the organization to which others refer for research and best practices.

Our Values

Our work is intended to communicate intellectual leadership among the disciplines associated with educational communications and technology.

We work with other individuals and organizations that share our vision, values and goals. Yet, we cherish our collective identity as well as a wide range of diversity encumbered within the individuals that constitute the AECT membership.

Professional Standards
We are committed to excellence. High quality artifacts, ethical conduct, and social consciousness are essential components of our scholarly community.

Our actions are dedicated to maintaining a level of service and rate of growth commensurate with the desires of our membership over time.

Financial Stability
We are responsible stewards of AECTs resources and finances.

 AECT Executive Committee

David Wiley

Nolan Gruver
Chief Executive Officer

Joi Moore
President Elect

Ali Carr-Chellman
Past President
Rick West
Executive Secretary
Chris Miller
Executive Committee Division Representative

Sharon Stidham

 AECT Office Staff

Nolan Gruver
Chief Executive Officer

Steph Siddiqui
IT Support Coordinator
Christy Isaacson
Director of Operations
Amy Chen

2022-2023 AECT Board of Directors

David Wiley
Joi Moore
President Elect

Ali Carr-Chellman
Past President
Sharon Stidham

Rick West
Executive Secretary
Tonia Dousay
Distance Learning

Jenny Bauman
Organizational Training
& Performance
TJ Kopcha
Teacher Education

Patricia Slagter van Tryon
Design & Development
Chris Miller
Technology Integrated

Vanessa Dennen
Research & Theory

Tutaleni Asino
Culture, Learning
and Technology

Anthony Pina
AECT Foundation
Cengiz Hakan Aydin
International Division

Irene Bal
Graduate Student
Tamera Hudnell
Professional Ethics


Byron Havard
Emerging Learning
Robert Doyle
International Affiliate

Aaron Bond
Systems Thinking &
Danilo Baylen
Learner Engagement

Educational and Publishing Partners